Steven D. Levitt, the author of „Freakonomics“, would be an excellent regulatory strategist, because he establishes very unconventional interrelations. According to him, tougher policing was not truly the cause of the so-called crime crash, a sudden fall of the crime rates in New York in the early 90s. Levitt argues that demographic factors lead to the crime crash. The birth rates in the relevant years had decreased. Consequently, there were fewer potential criminals and thus fewer crimes committed.

In the field of Regulatory Economics, PIVOT explores how regulation works and whether certain rules really affect the behavior of consumers (demand) and businesses (supply) in the way they are supposed to or whether political measures could even have counterproductive effects.

Our task in the field of Regulatory Economics is to precisely understand the business models of our clients, the way the markets work and the actions of competitors regarding the current regulatory framework. We are experienced in close collaboration with the experts in the business planning units in companies or at economic institutes and academic departments.




FOR CONSULTANTS:


If you are interested in a career as Consultant Regulatory Advocacy, you should of course have an affinity for numbers and quantitative problems. You should be experienced in dealing with economic models and have a creative take on the broader context. However, having read “Freakonomics” as enthusiastically as we have is a minimum requirement …

Steven D. Levitt, der Autor von „Freakonomics“, wäre ein hervorragender Regulierungs-Stratege geworden, weil er Zusammenhänge herstellt, wo sie niemand vermutet. Das „Polizeiwunder“ von New York, also der dramatische Rückgang der Kriminalität ab Anfang der 90er-Jahre, hatte ihm zufolge weniger mit einer strikten Law-and-Order Politik zu tun als mit demographischen Faktoren: Die Geburtenraten in den betroffenen Jahrgängen waren rückläufig. Die Folge: Weniger potentielle Verbrecher, weniger Verbrechen.

PIVOT geht im Bereich Regulatory Economics der Frage nach, wie Regulierung wirkt, ob entsprechende Regeln das Verhalten von Konsumenten (Nachfrage) und Unternehmen (Angebot) wirklich so beeinflussen, wie sie sollen, oder ob eine politische Maßnahmen nicht sogar kontraproduktiv wirkt.

Unsere Aufgabe bei Regulatory Economics sehen wir darin, die Geschäftsmodelle unserer Klienten, die Funktionsweise der Märkte und das Verhalten der Wettbewerber in Bezug auf den jeweiligen Regulierungsrahmen genau zu verstehen. Dabei sind wir erfahren in der engen Zusammenarbeit mit Experten aus dem Business Planning von Unternehmen oder ökonomischen Instituten und Lehrstühlen.




FOR CONSULTANTS:


Wenn Sie sich für eine Karriere als Consultant Regulatory Economics interessieren, sollten Sie natürlich eine große Affinität zu Zahlen und überhaupt quantitativen Problemstellungen haben. Erfahrung und ein kreativer Blick für das Ganze im Umgang mit volkswirtschaftlichen oder gesundheitsökonomischen Modellen ist ebenfalls hilfreich. Zumindest sollten Sie aber mit derselben Begeisterung wie wir Freakonomics gelesen haben …